Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

The bestest part…

Posted by Sandra on May 14, 2009

about making homemade chocolate cake, is sharing the batter-covered beaters and barely-scraped bowl with my girls!  Ah, I actually DO love rainy day fun!

cake1a

cake2a

cake3a

I think I caught Autumn off-guard! 🙂

8 Responses to “The bestest part…”

  1. Moody Monica said

    They are so cute! Those are the moments they will remember forever.

  2. Maggie said

    Doesn’t cake batter have raw eggs in it?? Just curious…

    • Sandra said

      Yes it does! Our raw cookie dough does too…. Yummmmy!

      • Maggie said

        Are you concerned about Salmonella??

      • Sandra said

        Not at all! The odds are about 50 million to 1 that we’ll die from a bad egg… I have a higher chance of getting bit by a poisonous spider! It’s a childhood memory of mine that I cherish to this day, and one tradition that I love being able to share with all of my kids… cookie dough, cake dough… and of course homemade ice cream!

      • bethmurvine said

        I guess I am just hyper-sensitive to the Salmonella scare, considering my whole family was severely ill (including my two year old, who was hospitalized) from a bout of Salmonella from undercooked eggs last year. Don’t want to rock the boat, but thought I might say something from my personal experience. I have a great recipe for egg-less cookie dough (so you can eat it raw!!) if you would like it!

      • Sandra said

        Aw, that’s nice, but we like our recipe. Only about one in every 30,000 eggs MAY be bad (and if it is, only about 5% of those actually make someone so sick they seek medical help… and out of that, only about 6 in 300 million people actually die), so we’re willing to take the teeny chance. We’re very laid-back here, and we do okay with that. I am sorry for your illness from raw eggs, but if we (meaning my family) thought that way about everything, we’d never get in a car, ride a bike, stand by a window, or cross the street… the list goes on and on about “risk” things that could hurt or kill us on a daily basis, KWIM? To me, it’s a rite of childhood to eat raw yummy cookie dough, and to me, I know we’ll all be fine. And if we get sick, rare as that could be, then we’ll probably go right back to eating it again, since I’ve done it for 40 years and my kids have now done it for 15… that means I’ve enjoyed it a lot more than it’s made me sick! 😀 But thanks again for your concern!

  3. Maggie said

    Oops, that last comment was from me–i’m at the library and didnt notice i was signed in under someone else’s name…!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
