Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

I am officially…

Posted by Sandra on April 9, 2009

a college freshman.  As of 10 minutes ago.

At 41.

This is scarier than… well, anything I’ve ever done in my life!  Ack!

9 Responses to “I am officially…”

  1. Michelle said

    Congratulations! What’s your major?

    • Sandra said

      I want to teach photography, so I’m getting my Bachelor’s in the Arts – Photography. Gotta have the degree to teach, and I figure it will be fun to learn some stuff I may not already know about my own field… I spent over two decades in finance, I wish I could turn back the clock and take all that away and went into teaching in the first place, but ah, it is what it is… 🙂

      • Michelle said

        It’s awesome that you’re diving in like that. From what I’ve seen on your sight, you’ve an awesome hand in photography. Especially of your little girls!

        I dodged the bullet on spending a whole bunch of time in a field that didn’t quite work for me. Got out of the mechanical engineering field, which seems to have worked well for me — especially with the collapse of our automotive industry. Whoot on that.

        So I figured I’ll do something I love and will hopefully allow me to give back as well as make a living. Ideal dream for me is to offer midwifery and doula services and get paid, but then also find a way to offer those services to people who couldn’t afford them otherwise.

      • Sandra said

        Ah, see, that would’ve been my very very first choice – but by the time I got THAT degree (nursing), then midwifery, then whatever, I’d have one foot in the grave! LOL! The doula aspect interested me, but not as much as actually having a hand in the delivery – literally. I think what you’re doing has value beyond dollar amounts, as you already know – we need to get women empowered! Are you enrolled in school now? Come on – take the dive with me!

      • Michelle said

        *grins* I’m definitely in school. I finish up doula training in June, and I’m done with the academic portion of midwifery school in fall 2010. There’s a program called Doulas Care that assist in pairing women with financial constraints to doulas that can assist. I’m hoping I can get my name out that way and find a good midwife to apprentice to. I’m very excited about the whole thing.

        The joke is that for my senior project, I’ll give birth! The husband likes that idea very much. I find it a fun idea — I think that’s how I’ll announce my pregnancy. “Senior project”.

      • Sandra said

        It’s a shame you don’t live near me – I’d come take pics for MY projects! 😀

  2. Congratulations!!! Photography sounds like it’ll be fun!!!

    • Sandra said

      Yes… I’ve been doing it professionally for quite a while, but you don’t need a degree to get work. But I’d like to get into some photojournalism and things that are a little out of my knowledge realm and get the degree to teach. I’m psyched… scared about going 100,000 in debt by age 45, but psyched! 😀

  3. Dusty said

    That’s wonderful! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

 
