Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Today’s Encouragement

Posted by Sandra on March 5, 2009

Today’s Encouragement from Crosswalk.com

I love this site, Crosswalk.  It offers a daily email with prayers, encouragements, news, and more.  I especially enjoyed today’s article on “Women Judging Women” – sadly, it runs rampant on the Internet, where everyone is anonymous and they would say things they would never  say in person (at least I’d hope not!).  As a past and current “victim” (that’s the best word I could come up with… I’m not really a victim, per se – you’re only a victim if it affects you, and I don’t pay any mind to it) of stalkers and personal attacks from perfect strangers judging me, I loved the prayer included in the article to forgive those that need God in their hearts, to cleanse them of their sins and help them feel better about themselves, and by design it would help them be less critical of others.  It’s a beautiful article.

Oh sweet sisters, women judging other women must absolutely break God’s heart. The crazy thing is when we judge others, we elevate ourselves past the ability to recognize our own propensity to sin in the very area we are criticizing. Show me a woman who is leveling a judgment against another person, and I will show you a woman who is wrapped in sin herself. 

If it’s not the very same sin she’s criticizing, it will be a sin just as dangerous – pride.

It is a subtle shift that Satan invites us into. Voicing criticisms against others will coat the eyes of our soul with smut so thick, we become blinded to our own sin. Pride and self-righteousness will detour us from God’s best path and lead us on a treacherous journey of denial. We’ll deny our own sinfulness. We’ll deny our own need for grace.

Those who can’t see their own desperate need for grace, refuse to freely give grace to others.

Now, if you’re like me, you may be tempted to start making a mental list of those who you have felt judged by and you started praying a few sentences back: “Please let so and so read today’s devotion. Oh I hope she sees herself in this and gets a whammy of conviction.”

Read the rest here.

Lysa also blogs here.

Again, I would like to thank my mentors who have helped me of late find peace and harmony by returning my heart to God.

Leave a Reply

 
