Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

On this day, 4 years ago…

Posted by Sandra on March 2, 2009

I was snuggling my brand new third little miracle, Autumn.  After less than an hour of natural labor (no, I don’t take that length of time for granted!) and one push, I was holding a perfect little 6 lb. 4 oz. baby girl, who is to be the smallest of my four – the others were well over eight pounds.  She was born around 2:30 in the morning, and after we got home later that evening, the boys proved to be very awesome, very doting big brothers.  She’s such a wonderful blessing in our lives, and I thank God every day for her.

momandautumn 

We had her fourth birthday party over the weekend.  Just a small affair, with a big menu!  I made a batch of my “vegetable paste” (my pureed mix of carrots, peas, onions, celery, and peppers) and used it in both the beef meatballs and the evening’s meal of individually formed meatloaves.  The meatballs were loaded with the paste, mozzarella cheese, Italian seasonings, and fresh breadcrumbs, seared and simmered in a crockpot full of beef broth – delicious!   I also made my “Taco Roll“, but with mozzarella cheese, Italian seasoning, and pepperoni, ala “Pizza Roll”.  I sliced it thin and had pizza sauce on the side for dipping.  A cheeseball was at the ready, as were deviled eggs, shrimp cocktail, chips, and date bars.  Homemade noodles coated with butter and parmesan cheese rounded out the day’s snacks. 

Autumn played the Horton game with her cousins, and had a great time outside too. Although – she refuses to say she’s four, because she doesn’t feel like she’s grown up from the day before, when she was just three.  LOL 

Autumn wanted cupcakes instead of cake, so red velvet cupcakes were made for her.  Pink icing, of course.  The girls helped make the homemade chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream the night before – which we had to dye pink for the birthday.  It was yummy!  Ayla enjoyed checking each ice cube for taste before dropping it in the maker:

ab2

The dinner meatloaf  was formed in small greased bowls, inverted onto parchment paper, then baked.  When they were done, each was placed on top of a pile of homemade cheddar mashed potatos, with buttery sweet corn on the side.  Mouthwatering.

So I thought I’d share some pics of my big little girl, growing up entirely too fast.

ab

ab4

ab7

ab9

ab10

ab11
(and I had to sneak one in of her little sister – trying to figure out how all the big people got those little things to make such a loud noise!)

 

Sigh.  Another one growing a year older.  The next birthday is the big “16” for the oldest one, this August.  That could be the hardest milestone for me to deal with yet… what happened to my little boy, nestled beside me in bed??? Sniffle.

One Response to “On this day, 4 years ago…”

  1. JM said

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AUTUMN!!

Leave a Reply

 
