Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Homemade pasta…

Posted by Sandra on February 25, 2009

There is simply nothing more delicious…

Homemade, handrolled, hand cut egg noodles

Homemade, handrolled, hand cut egg noodles

If you’ve never attempted making simple egg noodles, you really should.  It’s not as daunting as it appears – you don’t need any fancy machines, no drying racks, no special equipment.  Flour, eggs, water, and a rolling pin.  I cut mine with a pizza cutter. 

I find myself making these more and more – so much better than the dried pasta chips you get at the store!  Just a little bit of time, and a great idea of what to do with them when you’re done.  They freeze fantastic, and a bundle of noodles made from your heart makes a great gift too.  Give it a shot!

3 Responses to “Homemade pasta…”

  1. JK said

    ok. I always get my comments in the wrong spot. I go to the bottom instead of the top. Sorry. I put my noodle comment under family game night!! Just an occasional blonde moment here and there!! 🙂

  2. Head_Nut said

    y-u-m-m-y!!

  3. TheSwabbie said

    Sandra, you are right! Once you’ve eaten homemade, there’s no going back to “cardboard pasta”.

    I learned how to do this while I was stationed in Sigonella Sicily. I do it with the spoon in the crater of flour. Once in awhile I can find Semolina flour and mix that 1/2 and 1/2 with white all purpose flour for the best results.

    I also make my own Sauces, Butter, Bread, cheese and Jelly. I love doing all this stuff. I either Grow, Catch, Kill or Make a lot of our daily food. My wife isnt exactly thrilled with Venison, so I make sure there is beef when I make that.

    Venison Tenderloin on homemade Noodles… Taste so good your tongue about slaps the roof of your mouth off tryin to get to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
