Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Garbage…

Posted by Sandra on February 22, 2009

A hearty breakfast to get them going!

Here’s what you’ll need:

g1
Shredded potatos (I make mine the night before in the food processor, then soak overnight in cold salt water in the refrigerator, but you can make them that morning too!), eggs, bacon or other meat of your choice, any vegetables and spices you like, and grated cheese.  The beauty of “Garbage” is that you can clean out the leftovers and put it all in! 

How much will you need?  Depends.  For my family of six (including a teenage boy!), I use about 5 medium potatos, 6-8 eggs, a small onion, two cloves of garlic, a pound of bacon, and two or three cups of cheese.  Depends on how much “garbage” is put in – I know by filling my large griddle, I have six hearty meals.  My favorite spices for this meal are seasoned salt, basil, oregano, S&P, onion powder, and garlic powder.  Depends on my mood.

I prefer to cut or slice up the bacon before I fry it (and then drain it on papertowels):g2

Brown the potatos in a little bit of the leftover bacon grease.  I also put grated onions and garlic in front to roast a bit, before mixing them into the finished potatos:

Browned potatos
Browned potatos

Now the fun begins.  Toss on the garbage!  I add bacon or sausage, sometimes if I have leftover meatloaf or steak or chicken it goes in either in place of the bacon or with it.  Diced tomatos, onions, peppers, mushrooms, whatever your heart desires.  Toss it all on top and stir a bit:

Garbage in!

Now pour the slightly beaten eggs over the top:

g9

Stir a bit to ensure the eggs are cooked, then sprinkle the cheese of your choice over the top (we prefer Cheddar):

Enjoy!
Enjoy!

Melt the cheese completely and serve.  This is great too when you have company over.  A very easy meal, and can be catered to everyone’s likes.  For example, my husband likes mushrooms, so I’ll take a portion out and finish it in a separate smaller pan with the mushrooms added.  Great weekend breakfast or brunch!  We sometimes eat it for dinner as well.

5 Responses to “Garbage…”

  1. Maggie said

    the recipes you posted don’t seem to be very healthy…especially for growing kids. too much grease for my taste. what kinds of healthy foods do you make?

    • Sandra said

      There’s actually very little grease in it – maybe a couple of teaspoons left on the pan after the bacon is fried. It’s quite yummy! And since we don’t eat this three times a day, seven days a week, it’s perfectly acceptable to have on a Saturday morning, no problems at all – everything in moderation!

      Our family enjoys a very wide variety of vegetables and fruits, and we’re very big fish and seafood eaters too – which of course is extremely healthy. I’m beginning to add more and more of our favorite recipes into my personal blog, but nope – not all of them will be 100% healthy meals – there’s lots of blogs, however, that have family-friendly recipes on them. We like to enjoy a hearty meal on occasion too, and those are the most interesting (to me) to capture on film and post about. Steaming carrots just don’t make as good a picture as a taco roll… LOL!

  2. Maggie said

    Gotcha! Do you have any tried and true recipes for really young kids that you recommend? My daughter is 8 months old and just eating baby food. I know in a few months, she will be eating more solid foods.

    • Sandra said

      My kids were all eating table foods by this time, so what I did (for the whole family) was incorporate a lot of additional vegetables where they may not have expected them – i.e., pureeing up carrots and peas and adding them to meatloaf, or spaghetti sauces, or even hamburgers, just to get them more veggies. They all like vegetables fine, but “hiding” them in other foods just gave them even more. For the pickier times in their baby-hood and toddler-hood, we stuck with whole grain pancakes (put applesauce on the top instead of syrup – yummy!), pastas, whole grain or wheat breads, PB&J sandwiches, grilled cheese, and simple foods along those lines. I’m a mom that WILL make separate meals if need be, because mealtime fights aren’t worth it to me. So if I make, for example, a beef stroganoff, but the toddler just doesn’t want it, I’m more than happy to fry up a ham & cheese or make some chicken noodle soup. A lot of moms think I shouldn’t do this, but toddlers go thru “uni-food” stages so often, I just decided it’s a fight I’d rather not pick… LOL!

  3. Caty said

    This is similar to something my parents used to make that we called “egg stuff” and we used tortilla shells to make it into breakfast burritos. You can put salsa, ketchup, mustard or whatever you want with it. I miss those breakfasts, I might have to start making them for my little family now. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

 
