Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

A different recipe, fun for the kids too!

Posted by Sandra on February 17, 2009

And easy on Mom!

Everyone seemed to like my cornucopia recipe, and I love cooking with bread/pie crust/dough (I’m a carb addict, which explains why my waistline is not 24″, eh?), so tonight I played around with some ideas and made this:

 Take a pizza dough (I made mine from scratch, but you can purchase them) and flatten it out to about 12″ x about 16″ or so.  I doubled this, which is why there are two in the picture, but the description is for making one.

Taco Roll

Taco Roll

Taco Roll

 I cooked a pound of hamburger, drained it, and added a cup of beef broth, a pureed onion, and a package of taco seasoning.  I boiled then simmered until the liquid was reduced.  Remove this from the heat and let it cool.

I spread about a cup or so of cheddar cheese on the uncooked dough – a good artery-clogging layer for a fun dinner – then spread the meat evenly over that.  Leave about an inch all around.

Fold over the ends about 2″, then roll the whole thing into a log – think “burrito” on a grander scale.  I slit the top a couple of times to let steam escape, placed on a cookie sheet, and put into a preheated 375 degree oven for about 40 minutes, until the pizza dough was browned and it was yummy looking!

Sliced on an Angle

Sliced on an Angle

I shredded some lettuce and had sour cream and taco sauce at the ready.  If you like, diced tomatos and onions could be a great garnish too (and I forgot to take a pic before I dug into it… lol).

Garnished with Lettuce, Sour Cream, and Hot Sauce

Garnished with Lettuce, Sour Cream, and Hot Sauce

It was DELICIOUS and all the kids scarfed it up!  It’s much easier than the description lends it to be, really it is!  There would be an endless amount of ideas for things you could put in the roll – different vegetables, different seasonings other than taco, you name it, whatever floats your boat.  Enjoy!

 

Need the pizza crust recipe?  Here it is:

  • 2.5 to 3 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package regular or quick active dry yeast (2.25 teaspoons)
  • 3 tablespoons olive or vegetable oil
  • 1 cup very warm water (120 to 130 degrees)

Mix 1 cup of the flour, the sugar, salt, and yeast in a large bowl.  Add three tablespoons oil and the water.  Beat with electric mixer on medium speed 3 minutes, scraping bowl frequently.  Stir in enough remaining flour until dough is soft and leaves sides of bowl.  Place dough on lightly floured surface, knead five to eight minutes or until dough is smooth and springy.  Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rest 30 minutes.  *pizza dough recipe courtesy of the Betty Crocker cookbook.

7 Responses to “A different recipe, fun for the kids too!”

  1. Looks like I know what is for dinner tonight!

  2. […] a whole lot easier on top of how awesome the mixer is itself!  So, tonight’s dinner was a Taco Roll!  AND I got to use a rolling pin and my granite counter tops to roll out the dough!  Yes.. I am a […]

  3. marrika said

    Sandra… I just made this for dinner! I told you I would! And it was a huge hit! Thank you!

  4. Nancy said

    Do you have to spray anything on the pan or aluminum foil so that it won’t stick? Pizza dough can be pretty tricky (and sticky!) so I’m nervous to make this 😦

    • Sandra said

      Nancy, I didn’t spray it, and didn’t have much difficulty. I actually meant to lay down parchment paper on top of the foil and forgot – parchment paper is a chef’s miracle, I tell ya! 😀

      • Nancy said

        Thanks Sandra! I may make this for the upcoming week. The dough looks soft enough that Sophia should even be able to enjoy.

  5. […] seared and simmered in a crockpot full of beef broth – delicious!   I also made my “Taco Roll“, but with mozzarella cheese, Italian seasoning, and pepperoni, ala “Pizza […]

Leave a Reply

 
