Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Peanut Butter Pasta… a sure hit with the kids…

Posted by Sandra on February 14, 2009

Yup.  Peanut butter pasta.  That’s what my kids call it.  So easy, and fairly not-too-bad-for-you.  *grin*

So boil some pasta, any kind will do.  While that’s cooking, pick out a meat – chicken, pork, sausage, steak, doesn’t matter here either.  I dice it small, cook it up.  Then I add some carrots, peas, onions, whatever I have on hand that sounds good.  Usually the carrots and peas are the best, in my opinion.  Cook ’em til they’re tender.  Dump the drained pasta in, and now comes the good part.

I soften about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of peanut butter in the microwave (depending on how much pasta/meat/veggie mix I made), add about 1/4 cup soy sauce, about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, and if you have them on hand, about a tablespoon or so of sesame seeds.  Mix that together well, then stir the mix into the pasta meat mixture.  This actually makes sort of a “thai” peanut sauce that’s quite good.

This is one of my kids’ favorite meals – and it really is very fast, very inexpensive, and very very tasty!!!  Just thought I’d share!

6 Responses to “Peanut Butter Pasta… a sure hit with the kids…”

  1. […] Peanut Butter Pasta… a sure hit with the kids… « Geriatric Mama’s … […]

  2. Moody Monica said

    Hmm I’m gonna give that a try…Thanks for sharing!

  3. maureensk said

    Thanks for the recipe! I have a recipe for a lo mein dish that is much like this, but this sound sweeter. It is also much easier. We’re major PB fans around here too!

  4. lboosmommy said

    This makes total sense to me as one of the cravings I’m having this pregnancy is Oriental Flavour Ramen with a spoon of peanut butter mixed in…

  5. jessica said

    This isn’t the right place to ask you this probably, but I’m too lazy to search around for what would be the right place. In all your research regarding infant feeding have you come across anything about the decision to switch from formula to milk and from the bottle to the sippy at one year? I’m asking because we’re having a heck of a time getting our son to make the switch and he turned one a few weeks ago. He likes formula and he likes it from a bottle. I don’t really care and don’t feel like forcing the issue (he has three 6 oz bottles a day-not a big deal to me). Is there any concrete evidence that I need to care? Can I let him be my baby just a bit longer? Do I need to ‘force’ him off the bottle and over to milk? Just wondering what you think….

    ~Jessica

    • Sandra said

      Jessica, I sent you an email, but I’ll answer it here too! I’m not an expert, but what seems to work for my kids is “child led”. Two of mine had bottles well into their second year, around 18 months or so they weaned. I started having cups available and let them decide when they were ready. Same with milk. Nothing wrong with formula, it’s chock full of nutrients! From what I glean, the bottles really aren’t an issue unless baby is going to sleep with one in their mouth, or their adult teeth come in. Same for any artificial nipple on that one.

      For some reason, some “expert” wrote a book that makes “12 months” the magical age for a laundry list of things/milestones. It’s simply not that cut and dried. Let baby decide, and no harm will come… good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
