Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

It’s been a while…

Posted by Sandra on December 30, 2008

since I’ve sat down long enough to blog!  I pray all of my friends and family had a fantastic Christmas and hope you have a wonderful beginning to 2009.  I hope everyone will be safe if they’re going out to celebrate, too!

Christmas was fantastic here.  Quite a bit of traveling, quite a bit of visiting.  Lots of gifts and eating, that’s for sure… and in my desperate attempt to get some semblance of my semi-sort-of-not-too-cluttered-to-actually-walk-around-in-but-still-obvious-that-two-little-people-and-a-preteen-and-a-teenager-and-two-adults-live-here house in order, I took the tree down already.  I usually wait until the 1st of the year, but I just couldn’t take it anymore.

Besides that, I want to know how all of my perfectly arranged ornaments got clustered into one little group at the bottom of the tree.  Hm.  Any three year olds wanna fess up???

Sooo… our fourth baby is a New Year’s Baby and will turn ONE in two days.  I could not be any sadder.  This year has flown by quicker than the others – well, maybe not.  I still remember changing Brett’s diapers.  And I can’t wait to say that to his first girlfriend, either.  I may have a picture or two laying around.  I shall search for them later.

We are just having a small to-do with immediate family.  I’m not a believer in the $500 parties at professional venues with 40 people.  These parties aren’t for the kids, they’re for the moms.  Period.  Don’t deny it ladies, those who threw these.  Ask your 10 year old how much he enjoyed it.  Go ahead.  I’ll wait.             Huh?  He doesn’t remember it?  See?? LOL… seriously – I know why they do it – baby only has one first birthday.  But no matter how much money is in my bank account, I can’t justify it.  And I’m not that frugal.  Oh well, just me.  A box of cake mix for cupcakes, some homemade ice cream, and a few gifts is all we need.  $25.00 well spent.  HOWEVER, I am “stealing” a friend of mine’s idea for first birthday pics – thanks Deanna G. – and will proudly post them when they are taken.

Well… now I should upload the Christmas pictures and show them off… will do so this week, and I’m eager to catch up on emails and other notifications from my friends and favorites and fellow bloggers – I thank you for letting me into your lives and send lots of holiday hugs!!!

One Response to “It’s been a while…”

  1. Kathy said

    I always do low-key b’day parties, too. Yeah, it’s the kid’s first birthday. But how far are you going to take “the first…” or “the only…”? Seriously! “It’s the first diaper change of the morning, so we gotta take a picture of it for posterity.” “It’s the first fit he’s thrown all day — it’s a Kodak moment!” “He just said ‘mama’ for the first time — let’s make a cake!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
