Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Amaze your friends! Impress your family!!

Posted by Sandra on November 26, 2008

This holiday season, you too can make those around you ooh and aah in utter amazement at your skills!

You could either spontaneously grow a third arm, or simply make this edible cornucopia…  🙂

I’ve been making this for years, two at Thanskgiving and two at Christmas, and it’s really become a “tradition”.  It’s really very simple to make once you get the hang of it, so I thought I’d show you how in very simple steps.  Have fun!

 

You will need:  large cookie sheet covered in foil; three cans of refrigerated breadsticks (any flavor – we like garlic); an egg beaten with 1 tbsp. cold water, extra foil to make “mold”.

11

 Tear about 36″ of heavy duty foil; fold in half, then create a cone by rolling from one end.  Tape to secure. 

2  3
Ball up foil to stuff inside to secure cornucopia mold.  Coat tray and mold with nonstick spray.

 

4  5
Beginning at small end, start wrapping breadsticks around mold.  Overlap, press to secure.

6  7

8a1  Reserve last three breadsticks to braid.

9  103
Gently stretch out to about double original length, pinch ends together, braid.  Finish by pinching other ends together.

111  12
Press braid around front of mold, as shown.

14 Coat breadsticks with egg mixture.  I also sprinkle a little oregano and paprika on for color and taste.  This is optional.

151  16
Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes.  Approximately 30 minutes in, cover cornucopia with foil tent to prevent overcooking on top.

And you’re done!  Cool completely.  Carefully remove foil, place on platter, and fill with vegetables, fruits, or any appetizer.  “Spill” them out the front for a beautiful centerpiece to any holiday table!  Made fresh, it’s entirely edible.  From start to finish, I can make this in under an hour.
17

If you’re traveling, I recommend leaving the foil inside so that it has strength for the drive.

 

Hope you give it a try!

2 Responses to “Amaze your friends! Impress your family!!”

  1. Deanna said

    That’s awesome. I’m totally doing this.

  2. […] seemed to like my cornucopia recipe, and I love cooking with bread/pie crust/dough (I’m a carb addict, which explains why my […]

Leave a Reply

 
