Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Homemade and YUMMY!

Posted by Sandra on November 17, 2008

My daughter heard someone talking about apple pie on the radio over the weekend, so we had to make a homemade apple pie… crust and all… and boy-oh-boy was it delicious!  Everyone must do this sometime – the easiest pie to make with just apples, a little flour and sugar, some cinnamon and nutmeg, and there you are.  Yummy!  We all enjoyed it, and Autumn had a blast rolling out the dough for the crust.  She’s such a big helper!

Then we got the bug for homemade potato chips during the OSU game (GO BUCKS!!!)… so I sliced up a bunch of potatos very thin, deep fried them (gasp – yes I deep fried them, and they were GOOD!), then separated them out for different tastes.  We sprinkled plain salt on some, chili powder and salt on some, a mix of garlic and onion powder on some, and yes, some cinnamon on others (um, yukky).  The gang decided the overwhelming favorite was the garlic and onion ones, so I finished off the batch with just those.  We all finished them off while watching the Bucks clean up and get another victory!

Autumn loves to cook with me, and I let her help doing everything from “spilling” (pouring) the ingredients into the bowls to operating the buttons on the food processor.  We’ve decided her big gift for Christmas will have to be a deluxe kitchen set so she can learn to bake and cook homemade like mama!  She’s very excited to ask Santa for a kitchen.

Ah.  Nothing better than baking with the whole family and then snuggling on the couch together to enjoy the results!

Leave a Reply

 
