Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

What I want for my Birthday…

Posted by Sandra on October 1, 2008

The 16th Anniversary of my 25th Birthday is coming up (October), so I thought I would write a list of things that I want, just for that day.

  1. To go to the bathroom alone, with the door closed.
  2. Re:  #1 – to actually take my time in the bathroom, instead of making it an Olympic sport for speed.
  3. To eat a gooey delicious something – anything – without having to share with little people.  Or big people for that matter. 
  4. OR – not to have to eat the aforementioned dessert in the bathroom when no one’s paying attention, so I can eat it without sharing.  I know this sounds selfish, but it IS my birthday.
  5. To sleep past 7:00 a.m.  This isn’t really fair, though – I have insomnia.  I’m awake anyways.
  6. Okay, to lay in bed alone past 7:00 a.m.
  7. A shower that BOTH legs get shaved.
  8. To not have to be the “morning” one – changing the first diapers, making the breakfasts, getting two little people ready for the day.  I guess this is really a reiteration of #6.
  9. To watch a movie I love, like An Affair to Remember, without my finger poised above the remote control the entire duration ready to pause to referee an argument or simply having to rewind to hear something again.  And again.  And again.
  10. A nap.  Alone.
  11. Not to have to change a diaper all day long.
  12. To eat a meal – a HOT meal – without cutting up someone else’s first.
  13. To have someone else MAKE the aforementioned hot meal.
  14. Not to hear a singsong “Backpack, Backpack” for just 24 hours.  I don’t think this is too much to ask.
  15. Not to fill and/or empty the dishwasher all day.  Not to do a load of laundry.  Or sweep.  Or mop.  Or wipe anything down.
  16. For the stuff in #15 to actually get done by someone else so that the day after my birthday I’m not doing twice as much to catch up.

I ask for these things with the knowledge that as soon as the baby nudges my breast for her breakfast at 7:00 that morning, I will, with joy, nurse her until she’s content…. I know I will gladly carry her downstairs, followed on the heels by the toddler, and after my quick public pit stop, I will happily make a delicious breakfast while Dora begins in the background.  As I get them both dressed for the day, I will help Ayla with her eggs and toast while mine begins to cool, and be glad to share the donut left over from yesterday with both of them.  A quick public shower will get squeezed in here somewhere, with the girls playing on the floor right outside, waiting for me to finish.  I will nurse Ayla down for her naps today, while Autumn plays with her dollhouse… I will stay awake to catch up on work.  I will always enjoy watching Monsters again (for the 233rd time) and will rewind the parts Autumn wants to see over and over.  The kitchen will get cleaned, clothes will get washed, and dinner will be started by the late afternoon.

And I’ll be grateful and blessed to be able to do it all.  I know this to be true.

But it’s still nice to daydream a little.

One Response to “What I want for my Birthday…”

  1. Dusty said

    Ayla only nudges you to nurse in the morning? A few days ago, Aron woke my by latching on to my nose and biting down! Guess I can chalk it up to boys being boys? Lol.

Leave a Reply

 
