Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Interesting class assignment…

Posted by Sandra on August 21, 2008

Brett came home yesterday to show me an interesting assignment on one of his teacher’s classroom web pages.  I opened her page to find a picture of her and Obama (I will withhold comments on this), which is fine, more power to you… but I went on to read her assignments for the students this week and was a little shocked to see that her students are to listen to this amateur politician’s speech and write about it.

I scanned and scanned and cannot find where they will be listening to the experienced, qualified politician McCain and writing about his speech.

Is this just an oversight, or the teacher pushing her uneducated political views on my child??? 

If a man can’t have a bible on his desk without being fired, doesn’t this cross a bigger line?  I mean, the teacher with the bible wasn’t telling his students about it or pushing his Christian values on them, it was there for his enjoyment during his breaks.  It was insignificant to anyone else.  If I have a book by Robin Cook on my desk, that doesn’t mean I think he writes the best books, everyone should read his books, blah blah blah…

But I digress.

So I emailed the teacher and politely asked if it was just oversight, a webpage malfunction, or if the assignment to listen to the great Republican candidate was coming up next week… because certainly we aren’t saying that we won’t be giving voice to the other side, right?

She emailed back and indicated that since this was a U.S. History class, they will be covering the good candidate (okay, I added the word “good”) as it gets closer to the election.

I will be watching to make sure.

2 Responses to “Interesting class assignment…”

  1. Adriane said

    Ugh! Be sure to hold her to that.

  2. Shay said

    I don’t blame you at all! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

 
