Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Homemade Ravioli

Posted by Sandra on August 20, 2008

Or is it potstickers??

In my efforts to get even MORE vegetables into my family’s diet (they all eat them a lot and love them, I just want to get them more!), I have created the homemade ravioli… or wonton.  Or potsticker.  I dunno.

I found that by making the veggie paste, I can add shredded pork or another meat to it, put it in those little wonton wrappers you can get at the grocery store, and steam them up… then the flavor takes on the sauce.  So tonite we’re having them “oriental”, with some soy sauce and peanut sauce.  We’ll have our carrots and probably green beans on the side as well, and all but Brett will have a salad… don’t know why I can’t get that boy to eat a salad, but he’ll happily munch up some broccoli (which sends shivers down mama’s spine, truthfully… yucky)…

I can then change them over to an Italian style by making tomato paste (with even more pureed veggies in it!  Veggie heaven here!) and sprinkling on some cheese.

So the “hiding vegetables” mission is definitely a 100% success.  Since we eat several vegetables at every meal anyways, I’m multiplying the number that they normally get on a daily basis by putting them into “ordinary” foods.  Since they love veggies as it is, even if some of the flavor comes through, it’s okay.  I’m so glad I don’t have truly picky eaters!

2 Responses to “Homemade Ravioli”

  1. Meaghan said

    Do you have a recipe for those wonton pot sticker veggie things? 🙂

  2. geriatricmama said

    Here’s what I did – I took about 2 cups worth of assorted veggies – carrots, peas, green pepper, onion, and garlic – and pureed them with a dash of olive oil. Then I added lean ground beef to it, so it was about a 4 to 1 ratio of beef to veggies. For the “Chinese”, I added some soy sauce, sesame seeds, green onions, and a dash of teriaki sauce. For “Italian” I added some Ricotta and Mozarella cheese, a dash of tomato sauce, some oregano & basil, and another dash of olive oil. For “Cheeseburger” (Autumn’s favorite!), I added chunks of American cheese, chives, and a dash of tomato sauce. And last, we had “Steak and Potatos”, where I cubed up potato in VERY small pieces (like 1/4″ by 1/4″, maybe even smaller), added some grill seasonings, a bit of cheddar cheese, a dash of sour cream, and some chives – basically simulating a baked potato.

    I ended up doing all four of these the other night (dividing the mixture into four bowls), just to have a “tasting menu” for the kids to choose from. We had sauces to dip in (teriaki, soy, tomato, ketchup) and really had fun exploring all the flavors. Good luck (Oh, and I emailed this to you too, in case you don’t look back! :D)

Leave a Reply

 
