Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

The Olympics and Mothering

Posted by Sandra on August 9, 2008

I’ll admit it – I’m not a big Olympics watcher.  And if I do watch, I prefer the winter ones.  But I wanted to make sure to watch the opening ceremonies last night, and I wasn’t disappointed.

My father-in-law was visiting from out of town and the family was gathered around the television to watch this event.  Fantastic, to say the least.   As we were watching, I made the comment that I truly admire those atheletes with that much drive, passion, desire, and skill to do their sport so often and so long that they’re qualified to be in the Olympics.  I mean, I just don’t get the true want to get up at 6:00 in the morning, hit the ice, and figure skate for 8 hours, every day, for years and years.  I don’t have anything I’m that devoted to.  I wish I did – I am awestruck by their skills but mostly by their hearts.

My FIL looked at me and stated what really is the obvious – yes, I DO have something I’m that passionate about – being a mother!  He went on to say mothers do it 24 hours a day, day in and day out, for years and years.  He said he personally doesn’t understand the maternal instinct that (most) women have, and he finds THAT admirable.

Mothering.  A Olympic-worthy sport?  Yeah.  And my medal is just these beautiful, smart little beings that I was responsible for nurturing to wonderful little people.

See, FILs are good for some things, sometimes!

One Response to “The Olympics and Mothering”

  1. Scylla said

    Your FIL is friggin brilliant in my book!!

    Maybe we should start a new saying “AP Mothers go for the Gold!”

Leave a Reply

 
