Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

New shoes!

Posted by Sandra on August 8, 2008

Yes, I’m sure anyone that sees that will think, “eh, woman, shoes, what’s the big deal”… lol… well, it is for me.  I own one pair, a moccasin-style shoe… I didn’t have them with me when I needed to leave the house last Monday and pulled out a very VERY old pair of deck shoes that I thought I’d tossed… well, those trashed my foot, so in the trash they go… so this woman, with her one pair of shoes, is going out with her birthday boy son today and getting another pair.  I hate being so limited on what I can wear.  Flat.  Open topped so my foot can swell.  Breatheable.  Not binding.  No open toes.  ACK!

Or should I say two pairs.  Sadly, I have to buy two different sizes, because of this lymphedema… so it could get expensive if I actually cared about shoes! 😀  Even when I was a business professional, my mocs were all I could wear.  Wedding?  Deck shoes.  Evening wear?  Mocs.  It sucks, but I guess my hubby lucked out that I don’t want the $300.00 pair of shoes the women on TV seem to goo and gaaah over… lol!

A long time ago a friend sent me a link to a site that sells just one shoe, or shoes of different sizes.  I remember them being very pricey, however, which is why I’ll just stick to those cheapie $7.00 mocs from Kohls or Target… but since I throw away two different sizes shoes when I DO buy them, I wonder if there’s a place I can donate them to – either a company that shoes people missing a limb or others that have two different sized feet either due to a handicap like mine or just mother nature.  Hm.  If anyone has any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it!

Well, most people probably wouldn’t get excited over this, but I am.  I so rarely wear shoes anyways, the mocs I have have lasted a couple of years… but obviously one cannot survive with one pair… 😀

I would love to know what those with Primary Lymphedema in their lower extremeties do for this dilemma too!

Have a great Friday!

One Response to “New shoes!”

  1. Since my diagnosis was so recent, I haven’t got any answers. Just wanted to let you know that I’ve asked this question many times in the past few weeks! I’ve been wearing a pair of mule-style (no back) deck shoes most of the time. I also have a pair of “shower shoes” with a velcro strap across the top that I can loosen as the day goes on.

Leave a Reply

 
