Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

Yummy veggies EVERYWHERE!

Posted by Sandra on July 22, 2008

I am officially hooked on hiding these vegetables.  Tonight, a delicious cheese manicotti is on the menu.  I have simmered my beef and sausage with tomato sauce and spices, and have added my pureed paste of carrots, onions, peas, and garlic… and no one will be the wiser… yummmmmyyy!

Hiding the carrots and peas has been the easiest so far.  Also, hiding squash in mashed potatos.  My mommy said I can hide radishes in there too, but I haven’t tried that yet.  Green and red peppers in meatloaf, cauliflower in gravies, you name it… I think I have mastered it before the boys come home this weekend!

If anyone is a fan of Gordon Ramsay, you’ll note that he makes his gravy with pureed carrots, potatos, celery, and onions – cooked in the pan that the meat came in, strained and made into gravy.  The starchiness of the vegetables act as a natural thickener and add wonderful flavor to the gravy.  It works!

Sooo… now it appears I don’t have to deal with the “Justus eats peas, but not carrots, Brett eats carrots, but not corn, Autumn won’t eat anything orange this month, Hubby eats corn, but only on the cob” stuff… we love our veggies here, but out of six, there’s always one or two that doesn’t like a particular one, so I’m catering to different tastes…. well now they’re ALLLLLLL gonna eat everything, and not even know it.  😀

One Response to “Yummy veggies EVERYWHERE!”

  1. […] over the weekend.  Just a small affair, with a big menu!  I made a batch of my “vegetable paste” (my pureed mix of carrots, peas, onions, celery, and peppers) and used it in both the beef […]

Leave a Reply

 
