Vintage Mama's Rants HAS MOVED

Visit us at http://photographybysandra.com/blog/

  • Photography by Sandra

  • IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT I HAVE TO SAY, WHY ARE YOU HERE?

    **********
    Subscribe to Vintage Mama's Rants by Email

  • Photography by Sandra

  • My comments policy: My blog is my little nation and I am the government. Currently, there are no rules or regulations that tell me how to administer my blog’s nation. I am in charge and I set the rules.

    Comment moderation is turned on. If you don't like what I have to say and intend to post comments that are rude, childish, or vulgar, your post will not be approved! There are probably hundreds of blogs and sites where you can play with others that will coddle you and say whatever you want to hear.

  • Photography by Sandra
  • Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

  • Photography by Sandra

New Art Project

Posted by Sandra on April 1, 2009

I got a neat idea the other day, and realized how simple and inexpensive it actually will turn out to be.  I probably should wait until I’ve actually completed it to blog about it, but I wanted to show off pics so I’m posting prematurely. :D

Anyways, I picked up a couple of packages of teeny magnets (about 1/4″ diameter round) at Michael’s Craft Store the other day.  They came in packages of 6 for about $2.00.  Then I picked up some heavy gauge jewelry wire for about another dollar.  The magnets are much more powerful than they seem, and they stick to the wire like, well, a magnet. 

So I did a shoot last night with my four kids, and wanted to get a series of five shots of each of them with different expressions and looks.  Now I’m going to print the pics up as 5″x5″ squares, laminate them, and attach them to the wires with the magnets.  I’ll string the wire taut vertically, one right above the other, with about a 7″ gap.  It should make for a very interesting “work of art” and conversation piece, especially with the fun pics!  So I wanted to share the pics, and as soon as the project is done I’ll be sure to post the final result.  I’m very excited to get started.

I’ve posted my favorites, the ones that show the personality the most, in “large” format.  I put the other in a gallery, if you’re interested in looking! :D

 

1

71

 

18

 

13

 

6 Responses to “New Art Project”

  1. First off, you have some seriously beautiful children! And I’m impressed you could get them to sit still for a photo shoot, particularly the smallest one.

    I really love this art idea. Are you going to get the kids involved too? I really look forward to seeing the final project!

  2. jm said

    ummm. waiting for the finished product

  3. Moody Monica said

    Oh my gosh these are WONDERFUL! And…your children are naturals…very photogenic.
    I love photography and got myself a nice digital camera a few months ago…I would love to
    have your skills.

  4. Ron Huxley's said

    Great photos of your kids! I love the black and white format. More dramatic and emotion capturing.

  5. expectingamiracle said

    Wow these are great photos! I really like the style. It really shows off your kids. :o)

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Technically, I am “not allowed” to eat or drink at the hospital. (Thus the need for an IV.)
    This is part of why my plan is to labor at home for as long as I can, so that I can eat/drink/be comfortable. And I’m bringing Gatorade and snacks in my bag for the hospital for when the nurses are not in the room. It may be against the rules, but oh well. I know I feel like crap if I go too long without eating.
    Thanks for your encouragement…it really helps to have others reminding me of these things and hopefully I get my NCB.

    • Sandra said

      But see that’s the thing – you CAN eat and drink in the hospital, they can’t hold a gun to your head and say no. If those docs are following such antiquated rules (the theory behind no eating and drinking has been long debunked – they know now that a woman MUST eat and drink to maintain her strength, and to refuse that can often lead to complications, and the risk of choking is so miniscule it’s barely a statistic), they need to take new classes. You absolutely 100% can eat or drink – you are paying them, and you get to do what you want for your labor… really! There’s nothing you can’t do if you want! :D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

